Kush Decoded

Posted: September 17, 2011 in Lyrics

Hello everyone, Decoded is back…

For today’s instalment, I wish to discuss my lyrics in Kush K-Mix. I am a member of a group on Facebook called Freestylers’ Conglomerate. The group was set up by a lady called Suze Peru and has been used as a creative outlet for established and upcoming rappers alike.

Initially, this was mainly done by way of discussing hot topics in the hip-hop world and writing freestyles on the wall. At some point however, we decided that from time to time, we should take the experience to the next level. It isn’t enough to be merely internet emcees, a trip to the studio would have to be scheduled to see whether some of these web rappers could cut it in the booth. This led to us recreating some of our favourite hip-hop tracks namely, Respect My Conglomerate, Empire State of Mind, Black & Yellow and most recently Kush. The next project will be a completely brand new and original song composed by the members of the conglomerate.

When it was decided that we were to do Kush, I was faced with a bit of a dilemma. To those who are unaware, Kush refers to a brand of marijuana. I am an advocate of sober living and have never consumed any type of drugs or alcohol. Not even shisha or cigarettes. So how was I to have a relevant verse on a song about smoking weed? Well, somewhat controversially (to some people at least), I  decided to make my verse entirely against the practise of smoking weed. The lyrics are as follows…

Mr. Weed always insisted on wearing his seat-belt.

“Everybody getting high, like a palm in the sky/
Doing opposite of bye, except E-N-Y-/
G-M-A, I hear them say, that he chokes/
But I don’t smoke weed cos I’m already dope/
Mr. Corporate Flow, I got my tie on nice/
I’m fly alright. Why? Cos I’m high on life/
Grab a spliff? Nah man, I rather quit/
Than get stoned like the tanks on the Gaza Strip.”

Here’s a YouTube link to the song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7FfgUOiyhk
And here is a break down of my bars…

1. Everybody getting high, like a palm in the sky/
Another expression for smoking weed, is smoking trees. And I’m sure everyone knows that when one gets intoxicated, they are said to be “high”. In this line, I wanted to first produce an image of a palm tree. Palm trees are very, very tall trees and thus are very high off the ground. It also ties in with the concept of smoking trees.

Jack was high and confused this for a beanstalk.

However, in the next line I clarify a different meaning for “palm in the sky”. This is the palm of your hand.

2. Doing opposite of bye, except E-N-Y-/
When the palm of the hand is up doing the opposite of bye, you are usually saying ‘hi’ to someone.

For those still trying to find my identity, here are my fingerprints as a clue…

3. G-M-A, I hear them say, that he chokes/
Continuing from the previous line, I say everybody is getting high except for E-N-Y-G-M-A (me, of course). “I hear them say that he chokes” refers to the rumours I’ve heard from people that I smoke weed.

(Some people are stupid and assume that if someone is a rapper, then that means they automatically engage in certain behaviours. But when you “assume”, you make an “ass” of “u” and “me”. This paragraph isn’t a deciphering of my lyrics. But just some extra commentary regarding my views on the situation of assumptions and rumour mongering. Will probably turn it into a song some day. I’ll shut up now.)

4. But I don’t smoke weed cos I’m already dope/
I guess everybody knows that dope is a general term for all types of substances that cause you to get high, including weed. Dope is also slang for something fantastic or great. Therefore, as a rebuttal to the rumour mongerers who think I smoke weed, I’m letting them know that I don’t need dope because I’m already dope. I do not require weed as I am great enough without it.

5. Mr. Corporate Flow, I got my tie on nice/
A reference to one of my popular songs “Corporate Flow.” Also slightly hinting that it is a little unbecoming for a corporate dude to participate in pufftastic activities…

6. I’m fly alright. Why? Cos I’m high on life/
Again I insist that I’m too great, too fly to smoke weed. This ties in with the next punchline because someone who is high on life might possibly be flying.

‘Nuff sed.

7. Grab a spliff? Nah man, I rather quit/
To those who don’t know, a spliff is a roll of weed. Also known as a joint.

8. Than get stoned like the tanks on the Gaza Strip.
Getting stoned is another way of saying getting high. Getting stoned is also what happens to Israeli tanks as they go about their noble and regular work of murdering innocent Palestinians.

Palestinian boy attempts to fight fire with fire by throwing a stone made in the USA.

Drugs are bad. Mmmkay?

Comments
  1. kachuchulihunchuli says:

    hehe when I saw you on the line-up i forwarding to see what lies you were going to tell!

  2. patrick karlos says:

    Now this is impressive

  3. Tash says:

    If only I cud get inside ur HEAD for just one day…it wud be awesome !!!! I take that back might go NUTS from all the TRAFFIC goin on in there.

    • I Am Enygma says:

      There are traffic jams in spite of the recently built flyovers and Western Bypass. You risk getting run over if I allowed you into my mind. You are safer where you are now and only getting minor exposure from the tracks I release…

Leave a comment